Skip to content

You are here: Home / Research / Optical Access Networks / Optical Access Networks

Optical Access Networks

The team develops the research in its fully equipped laboratory for design, implementation and test of optical broadband communication systems, specialy in the field of "Fiber-to-the-Home" and radio-over-fiber networks.

The Optical Access Network team of the GCO is an internationaly recognized group focused in Fiber-To-The-Home, 5G and Metro systems, covering a large number of topics:

  • Fiber-to-the-Home systems.
  • Passive Optical access Networks (PONs)
  • WDM/TDM-PONs
  • Wireless front-haul and back-haul 5G networks.
  • Advanced ONU/OLT designs
  • Hybrid Multiplexing/modulation formats
  • Transmission techniques
  • Ultra-Dense WDM. Coherent transmission.
  • Remote amplification
  • Access-Metro all-optical interfacing
  • Scalable Metro-Access Architectures.
  • Traffic studies and migration paths

The group, led by Prof. Josep Prat, coordinated the FP7 European project SARDANA (“Scalable Advanced Ring-based passive Dense Access Network Architecture”) on next-generation FTTH networks, wining the 2011 Global Telecommunications Business Innovation Award in the Fixed Network Infrastructure category, and has developed the European projects COCONUT, ACCORDANCE, Euro-Fos, BONE, ePhoton/One, LION, MEPHISTO, MOON, SONATA and RACE1027, on optical transport and access networks.

 

PERSONNEL:

GCO permanent members working on this research line:

PhD students:

Jeison Alejandro Tabares Giraldo (FPU)  jtabares@tsc.upc.edu  

Juan Camilo Velásquez Micolta  (FI)   juavelasquez@tsc.upc.edu 

Saeed  Ghasemi  (FPI)   saeed.ghasemi@tsc.upc.edu

Initiation to Research scholarship:

Miquel Masanas  miquel.masanas@upc.edu    

Roger Sole   roger.sole.v@gmail.com

Victor Orlach   victor.orlach@estudiantat.upc.edu

 

CURRENT PROJECT:

Project CICYT-VERSONET: “VERSATILE COHERENT DUAL OPTICAL NETWORK" (RTI2018-097051).  


NEXT EVENT

Workshop on: “FutuRe Optical Networking Salon (FRONT): The EDGE

Barcelona, July 7th-9th 2021  


Contact: jprat@tsc.upc.edu